Edmonton, Alberta

Edmonton and Area Christmas Bird Counts 2016

There are 11 Christmas Bird Counts in the Edmonton area. If you are interested in participating in any of these, please get in touch with the contact for your area listed below.

For those participating in the Edmonton Christmas Bird Count go to the Edmonton count website listed below, find your count zone, and contact the captain for that zone. 

Edmonton 

Dec. 18 - http://www.edmontonchristmasbirdcount.ca/ for details.

Elk Island Park

Dec. 26 - Gwynne Hayward - 780-405-9931 -ghayward@shaw.ca - no registration required. Meet at the EINP Golf Course Clubhouse 8:30 am - 5 pm. Tea, coffee & chili provided.

St. Albert

Dec. 28 - Alan Hingston 780-459-6389 -hingston@telusplanet.net

Fort Saskatchewan

Dec. 17 - Art Hughes 780-920-0090 - ahughes49@hotmail.com

Lac La Biche

Dec. 17 - Jennifer Okrainec 780-404-7277 - laclabichebirdingsociety@yahoo.ca 

Camrose

Jan. 2 - Glen Hvenegaard 780-679-0253 - Glen.hvenegaard@ualberta.ca

Devon

Dec. 27 - Doug Macaulay 780-987-8017 - mothman@telus.net

Stony Plain

Dec. 16 - Kelsey Bourgeois 587-985-9941 - kelsey@enviromak.com

Strathcona County

Dec. 28 - Karl Grantmyre 780-922-3024 - Kgmyre@gmail.com   

Wabamun Lake

Dec 31 - John & Peggy Follinsbee 780-436-9322  

Tofield

Dec. 17 - Joyce Kelly-Sinclair 780-662-4100 - sinclairinc@outlook.com

 

For those counting in Edmonton - HOW DO I DO IT?
Participants join their Zone Captain and watch and count the maximum number of birds for each species seen in the day. You may do this either as a Bush Beater, a Feeder Watcher, or as an Owl Prowler.

Bush Beaters: walk through the parks and streets within a defined area in their zone.
Feeder Watchers: record the maximum number of each bird species seen at any one time at their home. See instructions here. 
Owl Prowlers: head out and watch or listen for owls at night and dawn.

Zone Captains will instruct new participants how to report results. Counts are compiled zone by zone through the Zone Captains at the Pot Luck dinner.

Final count numbers are sent to Bird Studies Canada and Audubon.

Results will be posted after the count on the Northern Alberta Birding Hotline 780-433-BIRD(2473).